Recipe of the Week // Stuffed Chicken

I went out on a limb this week and just tried a couple different things in the kitchen– no recipes. I was a bit self-conscious about it, thinking I might burn everything or leave just a generally bad taste in Alex’s mouth. But he reassured me that it was appetizing. So here it goes, Stuffed Chicken with Pasta, Corn on the Cob, Green Beans, and Mushrooms.

Ingredients: Two chicken breasts, spinach, 4 mushrooms, pesto sauce, lemon/ lemon juice, 1/2 pound of green beans, corn on the cob (leave in husk), 1/4 box of vermicelli pasta, butter, black pepper

I baked all of these food items at 425 F. With prep time and cooking, this all took approximately an hour and a half. it’s all about timing, i think. You just need to throw everything in the oven at the right time. With the chicken breasts, trim the fat off the meat. On one side, make a small incision and expand the inside through the entire breast while keeping the hole small. Inside I brushed with lemon juice for flavor, and stuffed with pesto sauce, mushrooms, and spinach. In the pan, I brushed the outside with lemon juice and sprinkled some pepper on top. Remember to cover the pan with foil. You want to lock in the moisture as it bakes. Put in the oven for about 50-55 minutes.

After this, I boiled water for the pasta. About 1/4-1/3 of a normal box is plenty for two people. Once plump, I drained the water and spread butter lightly over the noodles. I also like a little pesto, but I think that’s a personal preference. Then just put it to the side for now. Corn on the comb needs 30 minutes in the oven, so throw it in after 20 minutes of the chicken baking. Leave it in the husk so that the corn cooks in its own juices and moisture. Green beans and mushrooms need about 15 minutes in the oven. Just throw them in a pan with butter or olive oil, lemon juice, and salt and pepper.

It was a good amount of food for the two of us. I might make it again someday soon. If you have any suggestions for a better dining experience, leave me a comment! I love hearing other people’s ideas :]

Leave a Reply

