In Bloom // Continued

This is the fourth edition to my ceramic series so far. It is made from white-stoneware that I have molded and pieced together, forming a plant-like organic shape. I have been trying to achieve a more fluid form, able to be viewed from all sides. I wanted it to feel like the form was actually growing, while not overwhelming the eyes. Though this is the largest one I’ve made so far, I haven’t reached my overall goal yet. I hope to be able to reach a large scale, around the size of my torso, without losing control of the clay. Fingers crossed :]

This is the first one I’ve made that feels finished. I wouldn’t feel uneasy showing others, besides Alex. He’s just about the only person that doesn’t give me anxiety while looking at my work. I think my previous pieces were more like tests, allowing me to sort through some issues. I still have some problems to address but my hands are slowly working through them all. Any comments on aesthetics or tips are greatly appreciated!

Leave a Reply

