In Bloom // Problems to Resolve

Sitting by yourself in your studio staring at your work for hours is unproductive. It feels productive because you are trying to mentally work out certain issues you have encountered. At a certain point though, you start to doubt yourself and then regrets occur. I recall a time during my undergrad that I locked myself in the studio for several hours to solve some ceramic problems. I ended up grabbing a pine cone from outside and rubbing it over the surface of a vase. This was “texture” to “add to the integrity of the piece”. Who else has used that one?

In Bloom Problem #1: I don’t have a good base for my structures. Building horizontally seems to be easier but limiting. I need to figure out a better way to start the pieces for a more successful finish. Eventually, since the base seems to be fragile, the piece is strained. If the pressure is too much, I get a crack.

In Bloom Problem #2: Because every piece is carefully cut, shaped, and worked, I have a drying problem. Although I am able to re-hydrate, this causes areas to be too delicate because of the water. More even drying would be ideal.

In Bloom Problem #3: After some considerations, I realize that my problems could be solved by changing clay. I’ve been using white stoneware, which has a lot more silica in it. However, I need the abundance of silica for the level of flexibility and I like the coloring.

If anyone has any input at all on this, i would appreciate it.

Until then, I will keep staring…

And eat the fruit snacks that Alex has brought me.

Leave a Reply

